Undo Sending Email in Gmail
Gmail is really innovative web application by Google that provides us many features along with basic email. One of such innovative features in Gmail is the ability to undo sent email. Before you can use this feature, it has to be switched on. If you have already sent an email which you want to retract, then it is not possible. But if you switch this option on right now, you can prevent future mishaps related to sending email.
Undo email feature is available under Gmail’s Labs settings. Labs is a testing ground where you will find many experimental features. Undo email happens to be one of them. Currently, labs is available only in Gmail web application. You cannot find it in Gmail app for mobiles. So, this undo email feature is limited to the browser app accessed from http://www.gmail.com.
To Turn on Undo Send for Gmail, follow these simple steps:
- Log into your Gmail with your Google account.
- On the top right of your screen, you will see a gear like icon. Click on it to bring a drop down options menu.
- From the drop down, click on the button that says “Settings”.
- In “Settings”, you will see different tabs such as General, Labels, and Inbox etc. Click on the one that says Labs.
- Under labs, you will find several experimental features. They are arranged alphabetically. Scroll down to find “Undo Send”.
- Check the “Enable” radio button available for “Undo Send” labs feature.
- Hit “Save Changes” button available at the bottom of the screen.
- From now one, after you have sent an email, you will see an “Undo” link right next to “Your message has been sent” confirmation displayed on the top of your screen.
- Click on that Undo button quickly to undo sending that particular email. You only get a few seconds for this.
How to Configure How Much Undo Time You Get
Once you turn on Undo feature for Gmail, it waits a few seconds before sending your email. You can configure how much time you get to undo before the mail is actually sent.
To configure Undo Gmail time:
- Click on Gear Icon and then hit settings.
- From the “General” tab in settings find the option that says “Undo Send”. This option is available after you have activated it following the steps shown above.
- There, you will find “Enable Undo Send” which has been checked. Right next to it, you will see “Send cancellation period” which you can set to 5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds.
- Remember to save your changes by clicking on the “Save Changes” button present at the bottom of the screen.