How to Forget Wi-Fi Networks in Windows 10
Once you enter a password to a Wi-Fi network in Windows 10, it saves it, forever. Moreover, your PC connects to it automatically. Sometimes, you may find yourself in a situation where your computer keeps on connecting to an undesired wireless network. For that, you must remove the saved password for that particular Wi-Fi connection. If you want to forget the password to any network in Windows 10, then there are just a few simple steps to it.
- Click on the Wi-Fi icon in the taskbar.
- Click on Network Settings.
- Click on Manage known networks.
- Click on the desired known network and click on Forget.
That will remove the saved password from your system.
You might have noticed another option called Properties for the saved networks. If you go into the properties, you will find a couple of settings.
There you can set it on/off to Connect automatically when in range. When turned off, it doesn’t try to join the Wi-Fi network automatically. This option can also be used to prevent connecting to undesired networks. The same option is also available from the list of networks that comes up when you click on the Wi-Fi icon in the taskbar. Just click on a saved network and uncheck the Connect automatically checkbox.
The other option that is available on the Properties page of saved networks is to set it as a Metered connection which when turned on will save some bandwidth used by applications in the background or while updating. Another option called Make this PC discoverable also shows up in the properties of an active Wi-Fi connection. It is used for making your PC and shared files discoverable by others who are on the same network.